Borderline Stories

Extreme Ownership by Jocko Willinck

Jocko Willinck, a former Navy SEAL, recounts lessons he learned about leadership from his time in the battle of Ramadi. From these lessons, Jocko has started a company called Echelon Front where he coaches businesses to use the techniques in this book to amplify their efforts.

In the book, he emphasizes a concept he coins Extreme Ownership; which is, surprisingly, NOT extreme. It’s a mentality of taking charge of your actions as a leader and acknowledging the role you play in problems/solutions. Extreme Ownership is comprised of several techniques/principles that must be balanced (extremely balanced). Willinck presents each of these principles with accompanying war stories and business applications that really hit home the reason these principles are paramount to becoming a good leader. I found that the war stories were not indulgent in anyway and, to me, hammered home the impact of the principles in leadership situations that civilians can hardly comprehend.

Overall I loved the book. It will be a reference for me throughout my life.

Things I liked about this book

#book-reviews