Borderline Stories

The 32 Principles by Rener Gracie

Rener Gracie, a direct descendent of one of the two founders of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, has distilled the concepts that drive BJJ in to 32 principles. Using these 32 principles, one should be able to define the reasons why any move in BJJ works and more effectively internalize it.

Rener has three sections for each principle. A description of the principle, its application to business, and its application to every day life. Furthermore, a QR code is provided at the beginning of every chapter which leads to a video of Rener teaching the combat application of the principle.

I found this book to be a fun read because of my passion for Jiu Jitsu. I do believe it helped me understand better how BJJ moves work and it also helped me feel more connected to the martial art because the moves I was learning in class now meant something to me in my life. Seeing that parallelism makes it even more of a powerful thing to learn.

#book-reviews